Opinion: What’s Blog Got To Do With It? With @BethLovesBolly – 2015 Q+A – Part 2

Following on from the opinion piece on blogging (you can read it here), I sent Beth the 2015 Q+A to get her take on Bollywood now – and as always, Beth didn’t disappoint with her responses!

The original time of writing and posting is October 2015.

Fave films of 2015:  Detective Byomkesh Bakshy, Piku, and Bombay Velvet (I KNOW). Also I might swap in Dum Lagaa Ke Haisha for Piku once I get to see it with subtitles.

Best Female Performance: ​Deepika for Piku​ or Shefali Shah for Dil Dhadakne Do

Best Male Performance:  Hmmm. Maybe Nawazuddin Siddiqui in Badlapur? Irrfan Khan in Piku? Ranbir Kapoor in Bombay Velvet? Nothing is standing out to me – in fact, I had to go look at my list of what I’ve seen this year to jog my memory at all. I thought Amitabh Bachchan in Piku was a little overdone – not egregiously so, and it was fun, but still.

Films you are most looking forward to: Talvar (I’m already waiting on DVD for this – it didn’t screen near me), Shaandaar, Tamasha, Bajirao Mastani, Dilwale…MAYBE Hera Pheri 3 simply because Abhishek can be so great in comedy, though I didn’t care about the first two of the series.

I will watch Bajira​o first because….​​it will be much better on the big screen than it will be on DVD, and also I am confident Dilwale is more likely to be enjoyable for me, so I will save it for dessert in case Bajirao is a giant self-indulgent disappointment (as SLB often is). This assumes I’ll have a chance to see both opening week, but I have not known two Hindi films to actually screen simultaneously around here.

Priyanka Chopra in Quantico is… of zero interest to me.

Most underrated film of 2015:  Ek Paheli Leela. SERIOUSLY.​

F​ave celeb on Twitter: Rishi Kapoor. How is there even any other choice?

Don’t miss Beth’s advice to South Bandra’s finest in the Career Clinic next week!

You can follow Beth on Twitter here and check out her blog here.​

Leave a Reply

