57th Filmfare Awards Nominations – Who I want to win!

All pictures courtesy of: http://www.glamsham.com

“Damn, I wish I had worn a sari”.

“Damn, I wish I had worn an evening gown”.

“Not a Bata chappal in sight – thank goodness”.

No doubt as the Hindi film industry comes together for a night of glamour and a gauntlet of social faux-pas, this is what I imagine many of the heroines must think as they secretly size each other up at the Filmfare Awards. Still, it makes things that much more fun for the viewer who may be disappointed by some of the nominees and the recepients but still doesn’t know how to quit following the Filmfare awards.

To be fair, the Filmfare Awards are the only awards aside from the National Award or something like a Padma Bhushan (got to love an award that has your name in it) that I give any credibility to though if you are looking to have your faith tested to an extreme, you could do worse than to glance at some of the nominees in some categories. Still, the year is incomplete until the Filmfare Awards take place and this year is no exception.

So here is how it all breaks down.

Nominees. Who I want to win. Who will probably win.

Like some of the jury, I haven’t seen all the films in contention but hey, it’s not like I am an actual judge or anything, so put your objections  away and more importantly, let me know whether you agree with me or not. Or whether you would wear a sari or an evening dress for the occasion. My answer can be found at the bottom of this post…

BEST FILM

Delhi Belly
Don 2
No One Killed Jessica
Rockstar
The Dirty Picture
Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara

My Choice: It has got to be Rockstar. I must be the only person who hasn’t seen The Dirty Picture yet (much to my detriment as I absolutely love Vidya) but I would still choose Rockstar even if I had.

Probable Winner: The Dirty Picture. But no sour grapes here, just grapes for comfort.

Rockstar - my favourite film of 2011

BEST DIRECTOR

Abhinay Deo for Delhi Belly
Farhan Akhtar for Don 2
Imtiaz Ali for Rockstar
Milan Luthria for The Dirty Picture
Raj Kumar Gupta for No One Killed Jessica
Zoya Akhtar for Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara

My Choice: I actually think Zoya Akhtar or Raj Kumar Gupta should take this one as both ZNMD and NOKJ make for nice acronyms and were very good. For me personally, as much as I would love Rockstar to sweep the board, I would like to see Zoya Akhtar take this by way of compensation for Luck By Chance being highly underrated.

Probable Winner: Abhinay Deo for Delhi Belly – because they like to throw in a curveball here and there!

BEST ACTOR

Ajay Devgn for Singham
Amitabh Bachchan for Aarakshan
Hrithik Roshan for Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara
Ranbir Kapoor for Rockstar
Salman Khan for Bodyguard
Shahrukh Khan for Don 2

My Choice: No contest – Ranbir Kapoor for Rockstar. Ajay Devgn for Singham  might stand a chance which wouldn’t hurt as bad as any of the others taking it…actually it would. I said it once, will say it again – Ranbir Kapoor for Rockstar.

Probable Winner: See above.

He really learnt to play the guitar for this role. No, really.

BEST ACTRESS

Katrina Kaif for Mere Brother Ki Dulhan
Mahie Gill for Saheb Biwi aur Gangster
Priyanka Chopra for 7 Khoon Maaf
Vidya Balan for No One Killed Jessica                                                                                                                                                         Vidya Balan for The Dirty Picture

My choice:  Now this is a tough category. First things first – Kat for MBKD;  really? Yes, she did a great job and showed us she can act/belly dance but can we take a moment and look at the calibre of performance she is up against?  (Am sure she would have attended even if she hadn’t been nominated). Shame and damnation on me, as I haven’t seen TDP or Sahib Biwi aur  Gangster, but from what I have gleaned, Vidya has this one in the bag. Secretly though, until The Dirty Picture hit our screens, this had Priyanka Chopra’s name all over it after 7 Khoon Maaf and for what its worth, would be my choice for this category. Never mind PC, onwards and upwards.

Probable Winner: Vidya Balan – The Dirty Picture – but we love Vidya so ooh la la all the way…

Vidya writing out the formula for success on the board behind her...

BEST ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE

Abhay Deol for Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara
Farhan Akhtar for Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara
Naseeruddin Shah for The Dirty Picture
Pitobash Tripathy for Shor in the City                                                                                                                                                                      Vir Das for Delhi Belly

My choice: Lots of people went gaga for Farhan in ZNMD which is fair enough and he will probably get this award but I would like it to go to Abhay Deol who is perhaps the most underrated actor after Ajay Devgn in terms of getting the recognition he deserves.

Probable Winner: Farhan Akhtar –  as he is nominated for so much, he can’t go home empty handed, na?

Somebody give this man an award. Or more awards.

BEST ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE

Juhi Chawla for I Am
Kalki Koechlin for Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara
Parineeti Chopra for Ladies VS Ricky Bahl
Rani Mukerji for No One Killed Jessica                                                                                                                                                        Swara Bhaskar for Tanu Weds Manu

My choice: Never ever did I think I would back Rani Mukerji but damn it, here we are, that was a hell of a performance in NOKJ and easily deserving of Best Supporting Actress. As for Parineeti Chopra, isn’t she meant to be a debutante?

Probable Winner: The gravelly voiced one. See above.

Got to love the scarf that suggests serious thought mode...

BEST MUSIC DIRECTOR

A.R. Rahman for Rockstar
Ram Sampat for Delhi Belly
Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy for Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara
Sohail Sen for Mere Brother Kil Dulhan
Vishal-Shekhar for Ra.One

My choice:  Another tough category – well not really, because Rockstar has taken up permanent residence on my iPod  and in my heart, so it HAS to win this award. As popular as MBKD was/is (and it is a bitching soundtrack, I have to give it props), it has to go to Rockstar. All the way.

Probable Winner: Rockstar, Rockstar, Rockstar. Get it? Rockstar.

BEST LYRICS

Gulzar for “Darling” from 7 Khoon Maaf
Irshad Kamil for “Naadaan Parindey” from Rockstar
Irshad Kamil for “Saadda Haq” from Rockstar
Javed Akhtar for “Senorita” from Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara                                                                                                              Vishal Dadlani and Niranjan Iyengar for “Chammak Challo” from Ra.One

My choice: Aw man, I have to choose between Saadda Haq and Nadaan Parindey? [Sigh] I’m going to give to Saadda Haq which should be compulsory listening on anger management courses across the world but have to say, why the Dickens has Tum Ho not been nominated????

Probable Winner: Gulzar for DarlingSaat Khoon Maaf –  a matter of “recognising” a good film without causing major upset. Smart.

BEST PLAYBACK SINGER (MALE)

Vishal Dadlani and Akon for “Chammak Challo” from Ra.One
Mohit Chauhan for “Jo Bhi Main” from Rockstar
Mohit Chauhan for “Saadda Haq” from Rockstar
Rahat Fateh Ali Khan for “Teri Meri” from Bodyguard
Shafqat Amanat Ali for “Dildaara” from Ra.One

My Choice:  Again, where the frigg is Tum Ho??? Anyway, listen to Saadda Haq. Then listen to Jo Bhi Main. They are sung by the same guy. If that ain’t range, I don’t know what is. If that ain’t award worthy, I don’t know what is. Award needs to go to Mohit Chahaun just for learning to sing – amazing.

Probable Winner: Akon for Chammak Challo – he doesn’t ACTUALLY speak Hindi and therefore, according to a warped sense of poetic justice,  he must be given the award so that Filmfare can do a nice little write up with that angle in mind.

BEST PLAYBACK SINGER (FEMALE)

Alyssa Mendoza for “Khwabon Ke Parindey” from Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara
Harshdeep Kaur for “Katiya Karun” from Rockstar
Rekha Bhardwaj and Usha Uthup for “Darling” from 7 Khoon Maaf
Shreya Ghoshal for “Teri Meri” from Bodyguard
Shreya Ghoshal for “Saibo” from Shor in the City

My Choice: Alright then, let’s mix things up – in a non-Rockstar year, it would have to be Usha Uthup for Darling, simply because it sounds so unique and totally works for the film.  Otherwise, Katiya Karun has got to have it as it is an amazing song.

Probable Winner: Shreya Ghoshal for Bodyguard because once again, that damned sense of poetic justice means the biggest grosser of the year has to buy at least one award to it’s name…

Never mind PC, it is still a career highlight.

So there we have it! Do you agree with my choices?

And now, what would I wear to the awards – a sari or an evening dress? Answer: A tux. Whoever heard of a dude wearing those garments to the Filmfare Awards! Tum log bhi, na….

Leave a Reply

